If you or a loved one were harmed due to the reckless or careless conduct of another, contact a Delaware County personal injury lawyer as soon as possible. The trauma you experienced should not go unaccounted for, and you could receive damages for your injuries from the party or parties that hurt you.
By working with a talented local attorney, you could improve your chances of a full recovery. Experienced legal representatives could help you accurately calculate all your financial and personal losses stemming from the accident.
Types of Civil Cases
Civil claims often rely on the theory of negligence. In other words, if a person fails to behave in a reasonable manner and causes another person to suffer physical and financial losses as a result, the injured party could have grounds for a personal injury claim. Attorneys in Delaware County often see civil claims arise from:
- Car, truck, and motorcycle wrecks
- Workplace and construction accidents
- Unsafe premises
- Slip and falls
In addition to negligence-based accidents, personal injury cases can also result due to intentional tort. Intentional tort is the legal term for when one person or group of people intentionally harm another individual, which often results in assault and battery charges against the offending party or parties.
What if the Plaintiff is Partially Liable?
Pennsylvania uses the modified comparative negligence rule to establish fault in personal injury cases. Under this rule, a plaintiff must be 49 percent or less to blame for the accident in order to win damages. However, the total recoverable damages will be reduced proportionately by the plaintiff’s assigned percentage of fault. If a plaintiff is found 50 percent or more to blame for the accident, they do not receive compensation.
Defendants in civil cases often try to turn the blame onto the injured party to avoid paying damages. By working with a skilled civil attorney in the area, plaintiffs could gather essential evidence to prove the defendant was the person responsible for the accident.
Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Claims
For a personal injury case to have merit in court, the claim must be filed within two years of the incident according to 42 Pennsylvania General Assembly § 5524. If the claim is filed after the two-year period, it is unlikely the case will be heard, which eliminates the chances of winning damages. As such, it is vital for potential claimants in personal injury cases to contact a reliable attorney in Delaware County as soon as possible to avoid missing this legal deadline.
Reach Out to a Delaware County Personal Injury Attorney Today
Sustaining injuries because of the negligent or intentional actions of others is not something you should have to deal with on your own. Speak with a Delaware County personal injury lawyer today to review your case and determine whether to pursue it further. Our dedicated team of attorneys could represent your best interests during settlement negotiations or during trial, if necessary. Call us today to learn more.